Uninsured motorists in Texas

Residents in San Antonio should learn about the laws in Texas regarding auto insurance and how to get help if injured by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.

Motorists in San Antonio, Texas face a multitude of hazards when they take to the roads each day. Distracted drivers, hazardous road conditions or weather, drunk drivers and more are just some of the factors that can cause a serious car or truck accident. Victims of these collisions can be left with life-altering injuries and, in some cases, family members are left grieving the loss of those special to them because of the negligence of others.

When such situations occur, it is important for people to be able to seek appropriate compensation. However, when an accident involves a driver with no insurance or without sufficient insurance, this can become more complicated. Understanding the state's laws regarding automotive insurance and how to get help in case of an accident involving uninsured or underinsured drivers is important for all Texas residents.

How much insurance is required in Texas?

Every state in the country has its own requirements for how much auto insurance drivers must carry. As noted by the Texas Department of Insurance, this is broken out into the amount of coverage required to pay for injury to any person and damage to property. Every licensed driver should have sufficient insurance to cover at least $30,000 of bodily injury payments for a single person in a single accident and up to $60,000 maximum for a single accident. The minimum amount of insurance coverage required to pay for damage to property, such as a vehicle or contents within a vehicle, is $25,000.

A driver that opts to drive without insurance can face the following penalties:

  • Fines up to $350 for a first offense.
  • Fines up to $1,000, impoundment of a vehicle and loss of driving privileges.
  • If a driver also drives without a valid driver's license, fines can increase up to $2,000 and jail time up to 180 days can result.
  • If death or serious injuries result from an accident deemed to be caused by an uninsured motorist, that driver can be required to pay up to $4,000 in fines and spend up to one year in jail.

For offenses involving driving without a valid license or injury or fatal accidents, drivers can be forced to pay fines, spend time in jail or be subject to both types of penalties.

What is TexasSure?

TexasSure, according to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, is a collaboration between multiple state departments that essentially linked vehicle registrations with automobile insurance policies. It is a means by which the state can identify uninsured motorists. The TexasSure website indicates that as many as 20 percent of drivers in Texas lack the required insurance.

What can accident victims do?

Anyone who is involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist should contact an attorney promptly. Getting help to receive compensation in these situations is always recommended. Please call us at 210-226-3777, toll free at 877-716-3777 or fill out our online contact form to set up a free initial consultation and case evaluation.

Keywords: uninsured, underinsured, motorist, accident